Africa Best Songs and Videos of 2017 – HiPipo Music Awards Nominees

Kampala – 20/12/17: The 6th HiPipo Music Awards in celebration of the best songs and videos with an African focus has released nominees for 3 Africa centric categories namely Africa Song of the Year, Africa Video of the Year and Best Francophone Africa Act.

The categories highlight excellent works of art from over 15 African countries.  The nominations feature among other artists from Angola, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Cameroon, Nigeria, Ghana, Togo, Ivory Coast, Mali, Senegal and Congo with collaborations featuring artists of USA and Jamaican decent.

Innocent Kawooya, CEO HiPipo noted that HiPipo Music Awards, Africa categories further reflect HiPipo’s broad embrace, celebration, and honor of music from Africa and by Africans that has entertained us and shaped our culture.  He added that the year has been good for music in Africa seeing many hit songs and club bangers being released that have continued to thrive and spread the reach of African art across different corners of Africa.

The winners of these Africa categories will be announced at the 6th HiPipo Music Awards grand finale slated for 17th March 2018 at the Kampala Serena Hotel. All nominees from Across Africa are invited to attend the glamorous awards event hosted in Kampala, Uganda the Pearl of Africa.

Voting for nominees in these categories is open through different digital channels, including the project website and social media using strictly the defined hashtags.

Here are the nominees.


  1. Africa Song of the Year
    • Alikiba – Seduce Me
    • C4 Pedro Ft Sauti Sol – Love Again
    • Cassper Nyovest – Tito Mboweni
    • Darassa Ft. Ben Pol – Muziki
    • Davido – IF
    • Diamond Platnumz Ft. Ne-Yo – Marry You
    • Eddy Kenzo – Jubilation
    • Jah Prayzah Ft. Mafikizolo – Sendekera
    • Major Lazer & DJ Maphorisa – Particula (ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna)
    • Roberto – Into You
    • Runtown – Mad Over You
    • Sheebah – John Rambo
    • Wizkid – Come Closer Ft. Drake
  1. Africa Video of the Year
    • AKA – Caiphus Song
    • Davido – Fall
    • Diamond Platnumz Ft. Morgan Heritage – Hallelujah
    • Flavour – Baby Na Yoka
    • Mafikizolo – Love Potion
    • Major Lazer & DJ Maphorisa – Particula (ft. Nasty C, Ice Prince, Patoranking & Jidenna)
    • Eazi – Leg Over
    • Sarkodie – Pain Killer Ft. Runtown
    • Sauti Sol Ft. Patoranking – Melanin
    • Sheebah – The Way
    • Tekno – Rara
    • Tiwa Savage – All Over
    • Toofan – Terre
  2. Best Francophone Africa Act
    • Adiouza – Ma La Nob
    • Awilo Longomba – Esopi Yo Tiwa Savage
    • Daphne – Calée
    • Dj Arafat –Kpadoompo
    • Dj Kerozen – Le Temps
    • Fally Ipupa – Eloko Iyo
    • Maabo – Yako Waral
    • Serge Beynaud – Akrakabo
    • Sidiki Diabaté – Je Suis Désolé
    • Toofan – Terre


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *